The Consequence of Loving Colton by Rachel Van Dyken

The Consequence of Loving Colton by Rachel Van Dyken

Released on: April 21, 2015

Pages: 304

Format: ARC

Find it:

Amazon*GoodReads*Nook

Dates Read: April 15 to April 16

BlurbMy name is Milo Caro and I have a confession to make.

I’ve been in love with Colton Mathews since I was five. He should have known that sharing a cookie with a sugar obsessed little monster would do the trick–it sealed his fate. So really, the fact that he’s sporting a black eye, a limp, almost got ran over by a car, and was nearly responsible for another person’s death? Right. HIs fault. Not mine.

I made a pact with myself–this weekend would be different. I’d come home for my brothers wedding, smile, and Colton would naturally melt into my arms, we’d get married have five kids, live in a house by the river, and get a dog named scratch (clearly I’ve thought this through).

What really happened? I punched my brother in the face, Colton kissed me and apologized, I lied about having a boyfriend, oh and everyone wants to meet the mystery man.

They say laughter always comes before insanity–ha, ha. All I wanted was my brother’s best friend…instead I’m sitting in prison.

Let this be a lesson to you all…life rarely happens the way you want it to.

Damn cookie.

download1

Milo has been in love with her brothers best friend, Colton, for years, but he only sees her as a “little sister”, which is totally the worst thing ever when you love someone.  When shes 16 he kisses her and then acts like it’s nothing, which totally breaks her heart.

Fast forward 4 years….she’s now in college and is coming home for the weekend for her brother’s wedding, where she thought the distance from him would help change her strong feelings.  She realizes how wrong she is and decides she just wants one kiss then she’ll put it all behind her.

I was going to wear a dress.

And he was going to kiss me, damn it! Id done nothing but try to forget him for the past four years and all it took was ten minutes in his presence and I was ready to jump back on the Colton bandwagon.

There is an incident with Milo and Colton and she gets nervous and she tells him she has a boyfriend….which is where best friend Max comes in.  Max is probably one of my favorite characters ever! He’s hilarious and has me laughing so much.  I love how he dropped everything in his own life just to help Milo make Colton jealous so he realizes his real feelings. Most best friends wouldn’t do that!!

Colton was telling Milo that he was sorry that as they got older they stopped movie nights and playing dragon slayer.  He wanted her to know he’d take any kind of relationship with her even if she hated him because then she’d still be thinking about him…There are these statements that Colton makes that seem like hints of his true feelings, but Milo has it so ingrained in her brain that he has “friend” feelings she can’t see past them.

I’d rather be on the receiving end of a black eye from you–than the receiving end of a kiss from another.” He kissed my cheek, his five o’clock shadow rubbing against my skin, “Truth.”

Now we reach the day of Milo’s brother, Jason’s wedding. Now let me just tell you, this was probably my favorite part of the whole book. Just imagine any crazy, messed up thing you can imagine and it probably happened!! The morning was spent with everyone trying to get things set up for the ceremony. Jason’s Fiancé was a total whack job and she started yelling about something being the wrong color…well in order to “help” Max yelled that Milo and him were engaged…I’m pretty sure Colton saw red! At dinner more tension, lots of crazy, so Milo told Colton to fix it…so of course his way to fix it was to tell everyone he kissed Milo…probably NOT the best way to help!! Of course now we have the protective older brother who then punches his best friend and drags him outside!!

“You waited until she was taken before you kissed her you bastard.”
I backed up and shook my head. “I’m confused.”
“Why couldn’t you have realized you loved her before she got engaged?” She’s probably confused as hell and it’s all your fault! And she doesn’t deserve that and neither does Max, and you’re a bastard for waiting twenty-three years to finally see what the hell was in front of you all along.”
“Holy shit,” I whispered. “You knew?”
“Dude.” He took out the hand he used to punch me. “I thought you were going to cry when she left for college, and then all the other chicks you were trying to date… I bed they paled in comparison. Then, when you knew she was coming back for the wedding you wouldn’t leave me alone! You kept asking if you looked okay, was your hair too long? When was Milo coming? Was she bringing anyone? Hell, you’re a wreck.”
“I love her,” I blurted.
“No shit.”

Colton didn’t want to ruin his relationship with Milo or Jason, since he figured he be pissed…apparently he already knew and was mad he didn’t make a move sooner! Crazy how we always blow things out of proportion in our own minds…he kept it to himself for no reason for years just because he thought Jason would be mad! Next time he should have just asked!

There was definitely never a dull moment at the wedding!!! There was a funny moment when the photographer thought Jason and Colton were getting married so Colton kissed Milo to prove he likes girls…totally wrong move on his part…I believe Milo had, had enough!

“Stop apologizing for kissing me!” With a tearful sob she yelled, “I’m not even engaged! It’s you! I love you, asshole! But right now I hate you. I hate you for making me feel like I’m convenient, but most of all I hate that it’s so easy for you to use me and then just put me back on the shelf. Do you think I’m happy there? Do you think I enjoy knowing what it’s like to be kissed by you, only to be rejected?”

She started to destroy their castle when he walked in and fixed everything with just 3 words…

“I’m done.” Colton said softly. “In fact, I’m pretty sure I’ll both regret and remember this day for the rest of my life, but–” his mouth touched mine, just barely before he pulled back. “If you ever turn into an evil genius where you see yourself needing a partner in crime, or even someone to beat up on. Sign me up.”
“Huh?”
“I love you.” He smiled. “So damn much that I’m pretty sure if I wouldn’t have found out you were a lying little brat–you would have found Max’s body in the pool.”
“You love me?”

This was such a great, great love story with a whole bunch of crazy family wedding drama!! Which I’m pretty sure any bride would say sounds pretty normal. I just absolutely loved these characters!! I really felt for Reid…but go Grandma!! Haha!

This is a must read if you love humor, romance, and crazy all thrown in together!!

Rachel then leaves us with this…

And suddenly I knew exactly how I was going to get my revenge

I’m so excited for Max’s book!! He was probably my favorite character because he was so crazy and funny!!

Star Rating:

download

1 Comment

Filed under Book Reviews

One response to “The Consequence of Loving Colton by Rachel Van Dyken

  1. I am so excited to read this! Thank you for the gifted copy! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

