Still Into You by Ryleigh Andrews

IMG_8445Still Into You by Ryleigh Andrews

Released on: April 18, 2015

Pages: 429

Format: ARC

Find it:

Amazon * GoodReads

Dates Read: April 19 to April 22

Blurb:

What happens when you continually run from your demons?

When Mia watched Ethan walk out of her life, she did what she did best—she ran—ran from the only person who ever made her feel safe; home.

They work even harder to try and find you.

He was her everything and she let him slip away.

And when they do … they’ll come at you full force, guns blazing.

Hitting rock bottom forced Mia to stop. Now she needed to dig herself out. Figuring out how to do that required help, maybe a plan. She had to face those demons. Not an easy task when she spent her entire life running from them.

Would Ethan still be there for Mia after all was said and done? Or would she find that he had moved on? Or would he still be into her?

download1

This is the second part to Mia and Ethan’s story. They went through a lot in Bring Me You (book 1), so if you haven’t read it yet I definitely suggest you read that first (Amazon). This will have many spoilers especially if you haven’t read either book. When we left Mia and Ethan, she said they needed to take a break…

I love that this one pretty much starts right where we left off…it’s been a month since she’s seen Ethan or talked to him. She runs into him at Luke, her best friend’s office.

“I love you, Mia. I want you to do whatever it is you need to do. And I understand that you need to do this on your own, but would it be too much to ask that you check in with me from time to time?”
“I can do that.”
“Good. I don’t want you to forget about me.”
“That’s impossible,” she said sadly, feeling the fresh tears stinging her cheeks. She would never forget him, would never stop loving him. She needed to fix what was wrong so she could be with him again! Her failure meant no Ethan.
She did not want to fail.
Putting her head in her hands, she cried harder. “God, I’m so scared!”
“Of what, suga?”
“Of failing. You have no idea how much what happened in my childhood scares me.”
“Have faith in yourself. You can do this,” he said, cupping her chin.

Ethan and Mia are out for a run…she is trying so hard to be strong for him. She’s having trouble fighting her demons and is refusing help from anyone…she won’t even tell Luke. It’s kinda frustrating because here is this great amazing guy who’s so in love with her that wants to help her in anyway he can but she won’t let him…which I totally get sometimes you need to do some things alone. This doesn’t seem like one of those things…

“Running from demons,” she finally said after she took a few deep, cleansing breaths.
He wanted her to elaborate, but he knew it wouldn’t happen right now, so he didn’t press. But he had a tremendous need to see her smile, to see that pain removed from her eyes.
“How did the demons find you out here? You got GPS on you?”
She stood up and a small smile crossed her face before laughing softly. Playfully bumping into him, she started to walk back. He quickly caught up and stayed by her side.
“Thanks,” she said.

Mia has now called their engagement off, it’s been 2 weeks, so she can deal with her past issues so she can be 100% happy and than do what she can to get Ethan back. Ethan had texted her, which turned into a phone call, which turned into Skype chatting. This is hard to read because it’s so obvious how much they both love each other and want to be together, Mia needs to face her past and get better. I just wish she didn’t feel she had to do it alone…

“What are you thinking about, Mia?”
“I don’t think you want to know.”
“I asked.”
“I was just thinking how unfair life can be and doubting everything because all I can think about is you, being with you, missing you, loving you,” she spoke and her voice cracked from all the pain. “With you, I don’t hurt like I do when I’m without you. You make it better.”
“But you still hurt. I saw it when you were with me a couple weeks ago. The pain is still there. It’s like I’m that band-aid on your knee. I can’t heal you. Though I really wish I could.”
She stared off, focusing on her fireplace, the tears rolling out her eyes.
“You’re more than a band-aid, Ethan. You’re the love of my life.”
“And you are mine.”
“I don’t know what to do, Ethan. How do I get you back in my life? How do I do this?” she asked in frustration, running her fingers into her hair and squeezing her head hard.

By this point I’m so frustrated with Mia…this time away from Ethan is suppose to be about her getting better and dealing with her past…but she’s not doing that at all and she’s still doing drugs and drinking to forget about her pain. She better start to actually work on dealing with her childhood demons!

What do you want?”
Time for her drug order.
“I don’t want to know what you give me. I trust you.” “Mia, are you sure?”
“Marc, we’ve done this before. I just need it again. I need you to take away the pain. I need this favor.” “This is not a favor.”
No. Did he not want to do this for her now? She shook her head back and forth. “I’ll go elsewhere . . .”
“No. You won’t. Don’t you dare go to someone else! You hear me, Mia?”

It’s now been very long time since she’s seen Luke, her very best friend…they use to talk almost everyday! I absolutely love there relationship. I’ve loved Luke since we met him in Bring Me You. Mia was pushing everyone away, but now she’s in therapy trying to get better finally….

Luke took one step forward and she launched herself onto him. Her arms snaked around his neck, pulling him to her. His return embrace was so tight she thought she would be enveloped by his body.
“Fuck, I missed you so much,” she said against his neck.
“I missed you more,” he replied, placing his lips upon her cheek.
The tears fell then. There was no stopping them. With a sob, she spoke words that needed to be said. “I’m so sorry.”
“No. Don’t say that. You’re here.”
He had no idea.
Swallowing the lump in her throat, she gave him a tremulous smile. “I am. And so are you.”

Mia has been in the news about dating her co star Josh…well Ethan sees this and is definitely not too happy. He decides it’s time to do anything he can to get Mia back. All I have to say is FINALLY!!! One of them needs to make the first move…she thinks he’s moved on she thinks she should move on! NO NO NO!! They belong together and I’m happy one of them is gonna make the first move even if it’s Ethan and not Mia…

Fuck this!
Two fucking years without her. If he wanted her back, he needed to clean up his fucking act. No more women. Pay more attention to what Mia was doing. He needed to be ready for an opportunity to strike—to get her back.
He had to get her back.

Mia finally tells her therapist the truth about her past…she finally decided she wants Ethan back…in order to do that she has to face her past that she’s been avoiding for the past 2 years. This is definitely a step in the right direction!! -happy dance-

“I lost both of my parents that night. I was an eight-year-old, little girl and they abandoned me!”
“And how does that make you feel?”
“So fucking mad!” she yelled.
“What else?” the therapist pushed.
“Sad,” she said quietly, wiping at her tears with one hand and pulling a few more tissues from the always-present box to her left with the other.
“Why, Mia?”

Mia surprised Ethan at his football game!! She has decided it’s time to get him back…FINALLY!! This is what I think everyone has been waiting for…I have no idea what’s gonna happen next I just know they belong together. I know they have things to work out as a couple. Her finally telling him about her past im sure. I’m just so happy to see them together and working towards fixing things. So glad they didn’t let the distance change their feelings. I’ve really felt for Ethan because he was doing what she asked even without asking any questions, knowing she needs to get better even though he wanted to be there for her.

“I love you, Mia. I have never stopped. I never will.” She thought her tears were under control, but they flowed again freely with his confession. He still loved her.
“I love you, too,” she replied.

They are at Ethan’s championship game…the first one Mia has ever been too!! I absolutely love this moment between them. I love that they have found their way back to each other after everything they have been though. Just shows you that true love does conquer all!

She broke away reluctantly and whispered in his ear, “I love you.”
“I love you too, suga!” he said in return. His lips stayed on her cheek as the cameras flashed like crazy. She held his face between her hands and kissed him again, holding his lips to hers, savoring this moment.
He had won three other championships, but this was the first she’d experienced with him. If they hadn’t broken up, she would have been there for one of them. Don’t go there, Mia. Look at his handsome, joyous face. Focus on that. Focus on how proud you are of him
“So, you gonna let me down anytime soon?” she asked. “I mean, I’m happy where I am . . .”
“God, I am so happy you’re a part of this with me. All those other championships don’t even compare to having you here with me, celebrating this moment.”
“I wouldn’t have missed this for the world. I’m so proud of you right now I’m about to burst!”

We are left with this at the end…Ethan has got Mia…always has and ways will no matter what.

“I’ll get you there. I promise, suga,” he murmured against her ear. “I’ve got you.”
I’ve got you.

This book really pulls on your heart strings.  I really felt for Mia, even though she made me mad quite a few times, with everything she went though, luckily I’ve never dealt with the drugs or alcohol issue.  I really felt for Ethan because he’s hurting and letting her deal with everything alone has been really hard for him.  He’s one of those guys that wants to be able to fix everything.  Everyone needs there own Ethan and Luke too!!  He’s an amazing best friend!! Make sure you have you’re tissues ready for this one!!

Star Rating:

download

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

