The Opposite of You by Rachel Higginson

33932353The Opposite of You by Rachel Higginson

Release Date: March 30, 2017

Format: ARC

Pages: 302

Find It: GoodReads * Amazon

Dates Read: March 20 to March 25

Blurb:

I’ve sworn off men.

All men.

Famous last words, right? You’re expecting some epic tale of reluctant love and my dramatic change of heart? Well, you’re not going to get it.

I’m stubborn. And headstrong. And I’ve just survived the worst three years of my life. After escaping an abusive boyfriend to live in hostels and cheap hotels while I worked my way across Europe, I’ve come to two conclusions.

The first? Now that I’m back home, I’m going to squander my expensive culinary degree on a food truck that caters to the late night drunk crowd.

The second? I’m going to prove to the bastard across the plaza that my street food is better than his fussy five course monstrosities.

Killian Quinn might be Food and Wine’s Chef to Watch Out For. He might have a Michelin Star. He might have every food critic in the city wrapped around his too-large fingers. But he’s also pretentious and unbearably arrogant and the very opposite of me.

So he can keep his unsolicited advice and his late night visits and his cocky smiles. I want none of it. Or him.

I want the opposite.

img_1708

I was excited to get asked if I’d like to read and review this new release!! I’ve loved everything Rachel Higginson has released, this one was just as great as all the others!!

Vera is an up and coming chef who ends up trusting the wrong person to teach her.  She ends up coming home and buying a food truck which she parks in her brother’s shop parking lot.  She happens to be parked across the street from the famous Chef Killian Quinn’s restaurant…Lilou.

Killian is one of the top chefs in the area and he knows it. He is arrogant, bossy, and a complete ass….he’s completed pissed about Vera setting up her food truck right across the street.  He definitely makes his unhappiness known…in many different ways.

His body jerked as if awoken from a trance and he turned his attention to his bike, pushing it to park on the side of Lilou and storing his helmet in a side compartment.

They have a very strange relationship, it’s hard to tell if Killian likes her or if he’s trying to make her give up and close her truck. Vera is determined to be successful and won’t let Killian stand in her way!

He held out a folded piece of paper. “I didn’t think he’d have notes for you. I swear.”
“Notes? Who had notes?”

I loved this book so much. I loved watching Vera and Killian’s relationship grow into friendship. I loved that she was starting over and not giving up after everything that happened to her. I loved Killian because even though he acted like this arrogant ass he was helpful to Vera in his own way.

Will Killian be able to see Vera’s potential? Will she be able to move on from her past? Will she be able to trust again? Will he be willing to let her in?

Make sure you find grab this and find out how complete opposites can hopefully be perfect for each other!

My Star Rating:

img_1709-1

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

